2018-2019 Academic Catalog 
    Feb 21, 2024  
2018-2019 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Physics, MA

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study

Graduate Physics Overview

Graduate Program

The department offers the master’s degree and the doctor of philosophy degree in physics. Research is concentrated in experimental and theoretical studies of condensed matter physics, including biophysics, computational physics, electronic materials, energy physics, nanoscience, and soft matter.

Further information on the research interests of the faculty and research opportunities for graduate students can be found at the department’s Website, http://physics.clarku.edu.

Application forms for admission and financial aid may be requested from the Office of Graduate Admissions, http://www.clarku.edu/graduate-admissions/. Financial support is available in the form of tuition remissions, teaching assistantships and research assistantships. The department considers the financial support of its graduate students an important responsibility.

Graduate Requirements

The M.A. degree is awarded to students who complete their Master’s degree requirements en route to the Ph.D. degree.

The academic requirements emphasize our research apprenticeship mode of instruction which encourages early student participation in research.

Master’s degree students must satisfy the general University residence and course requirements, and pass four of the core graduate courses (PHYS 301 , PHYS 302 , PHYS 305 PHYS 306 , PHYS 309  and PHYS 310 ) and one semester of PHYS 303  with a grade of B- or better. Master’s degree candidates also must complete a thesis based on original research.

Graduate students in both the M.A. and Ph.D. programs are required to gain supervised teaching experience either as teaching assistants or teaching fellows in the department, or elsewhere if approved by the department.

More information about the requirements for the Ph.D. and Master’s degrees in physics is available from the Graduate Student Handbook. Copies are available upon request from the graduate-student adviser.

Physics Faculty


Charles Agosta, Ph.D.
Michael Boyer, Ph.D.
Barbara Capogrosso Sansone, Ph.D.
Arshad Kudrolli, Ph.D.
Alexander Petroff, Ph.D.
Ranjan Mukhopadhyay, Ph.D.



Shuanghong Huo, Ph.D.


S. Leslie Blatt, Ph.D.
Harvey Gould, Ph.D.
Roger P. Kohin, Ph.D.
Christopher P. Landee, Ph.D.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study