2021-2022 Academic Catalog 
    Jul 20, 2024  
2021-2022 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Physics, MA

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study

Graduate Physics Overview

Graduate Program

The department offers the master’s degree and the doctor of philosophy degree in physics. Research is concentrated in experimental and theoretical studies of condensed matter physics, including biophysics, computational physics, electronic materials, energy physics, nanoscience, and soft matter.

Further information on the research interests of the faculty and research opportunities for graduate students can be found at the department’s Website, http://physics.clarku.edu.

Application forms for admission and financial aid may be requested from the Office of Graduate Admissions, http://www.clarku.edu/graduate-admissions/. Financial support is available in the form of tuition remissions, teaching assistantships and research assistantships. The department considers the financial support of its graduate students an important responsibility.

Graduate Requirements

The M.A. degree is awarded to students who complete their Master’s degree requirements en route to the Ph.D. degree.

The academic requirements emphasize our research apprenticeship mode of instruction which encourages early student participation in research.

Master’s degree students must satisfy the general University residence and course requirements, and are expected to pass (with a grade B- or better) 4 core graduate courses which can be chosen among PHYS 301 , PHYS 302 , PHYS 305 PHYS 306 , PHYS 309 , PHYS 310 , PHYS 319 , PHYS 351 , and PHYS 367 .  Students are also expected to pass at least 5 thesis units. Remaining units can be chosen among the core graduate courses listed above, PHYS 303 , or a thesis unit.  Master’s degree candidates also must complete a thesis based on original research.

More information about the requirements for the Ph.D. and Master’s degrees in physics is available from the Graduate Student Handbook. Copies are available upon request from the graduate-student adviser.

Physics Faculty


Charles Agosta, Ph.D.
Michael Boyer, Ph.D.
Barbara Capogrosso Sansone, Ph.D.
Arshad Kudrolli, Ph.D.
Alexander Petroff, Ph.D.
Ranjan Mukhopadhyay, Ph.D.



Shuanghong Huo, Ph.D.


S. Leslie Blatt, Ph.D.
Harvey Gould, Ph.D.
Roger P. Kohin, Ph.D.
Christopher P. Landee, Ph.D.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study